The Oregon legislature has approved, and the Governor is expected to sign, a new law requiring Oregon employers with 10 or more employees to provide at least 5 paid sick days per year and Oregon employers with fewer than 10 employees to provide at least 5 unpaid sick days per year.  This law is similar to ordinances recently passed in Portland and Eugene.  The Portland rule, which took effect January 1, 2014, is slightly more generous, covering employers with 6 or more employees, and will remain in place.  The new law will take the place of the Eugene measure which was set to become effective in July of this year.  Employees will accrue at least 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked.  Organization size is determined by looking at the average number of employees for the last 20 weeks of the preceding year.   For new employees, there is a waiting period of 90 days before accrued time may be taken.  Generally, sick time may be taken in hourly increments and may be used for self care or to care for family members.  Employers may not require employees to find replacement workers to cover their absences or to make up sick time.   If signed, the law could become effective as soon as January 1, 2016.  There will be a 1 year grace period from penalties for employers.

http://www.oregonlive.com/business/index.ssf/2015/06/paid_sick_leave_bill_wins_fina.html

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2015R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB454/Enrolled